Rainshadow Road 

Book of The Day

“Rainshadow Road” by Lisa Kleypas

 Lucy Marinn is a glass artist living in mystical, beautiful, Friday Harbor, Washington. She is stunned and blindsided by the most bitter kind of betrayal: her fiancé Kevin has left her. His new lover is Lucy’s own sister. Lucy’s bitterness over being dumped is multiplied by the fact that she has constantly made the wrong choices in her romantic life. Facing the severe disapproval of Lucy’s parents, Kevin asks his friend Sam Nolan, a local vineyard owner on San Juan Island, to “romance” Lucy and hopefully loosen her up and get her over her anger. Complications ensue when Sam and Lucy begin to fall in love, Kevin has second thoughts, and Lucy discovers that the new relationship in her life began under false pretenses. Questions about love, loyalty, old patterns, mistakes, and new beginnings are explored as Lucy learns that some things in life—even after being broken—can be made into something new and beautiful.

 

 

 

I know I don’t normally write about romance or women’s contemporary novels but I told you guys I like a variety of genres! I needed a little brain break from all the murderous psycho thrillers I usually devour. This book was a lovely breather and change of pace.  I’ve read two other novels by Lisa and I loved those so she was an easy pick.

The story begins by showing the family dynamic between Lucy and her younger sister Alice. Even as they were kids I found myself completely annoyed by Alice. Understanding their dynamic makes it easy to see how Alice swooped in and stole Lucy’s boyfriend, that she shared a home with, from her. I mean can you imagine your significant other having an affair with your sister?! Alice wasn’t even sorry about it. I did love that their parents showed their disapproval of the relationship, but unfortunately it didn’t last long.

Meanwhile Lucy meets Sam and their attraction to each other is basically immediate. Throughout the entire story they try to deny their feelings for each other like a pair of teenagers. It drove me nuts. However, Lucy had an accident that left her immobile and Sam was the only one around to nurse her back to health. They couldn’t fight their feelings for long. I enjoyed seeing their story play out. The only weird thing for me in the whole story was the magic. I don’t see how it fit. I love magic just as much as the next Harry Potter fan, but the magic here wasn’t even a main theme so it seemed out of place for me.

Overall, “Rainshadow Road” was a fun and quick read. It’s a good beach read or for a lazy Sunday.

Thoughts??

Have any of you read any of Lisa’s other novels? What type of books do you like to read to switch up your routine?

 

Leave a Reply

