Eeny Meeny

Book of the Day

“Eeny Meeny” by M.J. Arlidge

Eeny

Two people are abducted, imprisoned, and left with a gun. As hunger and thirst set in, only one walks away alive.

It’s a game more twisted than any Detective Helen Grace has ever seen. If she hadn’t spoken with the shattered survivors herself, she almost wouldn’t believe them.

Helen is familiar with the dark sides of human nature, including her own, but this case—with its seemingly random victims—has her baffled. But as more people go missing, nothing will be more terrifying than when it all starts making sense….

 

 

Okay, I know I’m a little late with this one, but who cares lol. I loved this book! I’m so excited that there are more Helen Grace thrillers to read and I can follow her twisted journey.

This book had really short chapters, which I thoroughly enjoyed. It tricked me into reading more and more. I was done in no time. The plot was fresh and new. I’ve read plenty of thrillers and I haven’t read one like this before.

Helen Grace couldn’t figure out who the killer was and what their motive was and I couldn’t either! 80% of the time reading this book I thought I had a pretty good guess as to who it was (I was wrong) but I was totally lost on why she killed in this manner and how she chose her victims. Shock, shock, shock when it was revealed! Some parts were super gross to read just because the victims were left stranded for days and weeks at a time so they did some pretty foul things to survive.

After getting some backstory on Helen she was still a mystery and I’m not mad about it. It leaves some interest and excitement there to read the other books in her series. 

I was so nervous about everything ending terribly bad for Helen and her team. I won’t give anything away from that perspective but I’ll say that it was realistic and not a “movie ending.” There were more twists throughout this book besides learning who the killer was and why they did it-LOVE! Not a page went by that didn’t have some punch to it. Highly recommend this to readers that love thrillers, mysteries and suspense.

Thoughts??

Is this on anyone’s TBR list? If you’ve already read it what did you think? Did you have the motive and killer figured out? If you’re not into thrillers what is your favorite genre?

 

Leave a Reply

