Big Little Lies

From Book to TV Adaption

“Big Little Lies” by Liane Moriarty

biglittlelies01-590x237

big-little-lies

A murder…A tragic accident…Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the little lies that can turn lethal.

 

So I just finished the third episode of “Big Little Lies” on HBO and I’m hooked. I’m sad I didn’t actually read the book to be able to compare. It was on my TBR list for a while but I kept putting it off. If I would’ve known a show was coming from it I would’ve hurried up and got on the “Big Little Lies” train!

It’s driving me completely insane not knowing what child was killed! The flashes to the interrogations and police statements don’t give away any hints either, which is good. (But I wish it did because I just need to know lol.) Seeing that Amabella was choked and previews from next week’s show tells us that she’s still being bullied, maybe it’s her. However, that seems a little too obvious which makes me think it might be someone else. 

At first I didn’t believe Ziggy was responsible for the Amabella incident but after Jane reveals backstory on Ziggy’s father it could very well be true. Maybe he has a violent streak inherited from his dad. I also wasn’t that shocked about Jane being raped because she was always having flashbacks to running, she’s constantly anxious and wouldn’t tell Ziggy who his father was.

I’m so disappointed in Celeste for putting up with Perry’s abuse. She’s so much better than that and I hope by the end of the show she leaves him. I was surprised that Perry actually admitted to getting physical with Celeste during their therapy session. I wonder if Celeste will confide in Madeline about what’s really going on. 

I love Madeline’s character and I love Reese playing her. Even though she has her fake moments with petty drama, like all the moms in their town, she seems the most real. She isn’t afraid to speak her mind and do what she feels needs to be done. I feel bad for her husband though because he feels second to her ex. I understand Madeline’s anger but I hope she starts to give more love to Ed. 

I could go on and on but I’ll just leave it at I love this show and I can’t wait to keep watching!

Thoughts??

I would LOVE to hear from you guys that have actually read the book. How do you think it compares to the TV adaption? What are some details or facts I should know that are left out of the show? (without giving anything away) 

2 thoughts on “Big Little Lies

  1. I watched the first episode and even though the acting was great, thought it was a little slow. However, it was really well done! The book was fabulous btw. I won’t spoil it for you by saying any more…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree about the 1st episode being a little slow but the storyline was interesting so I countined to the 2nd one. I’m glad I did because I love it. I can only imagine the book being 10x’s better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

