My Husband’s Wife

Book of the Day

“My Husband’s Wife” by Jane Corry

img_1341 When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she’s determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.

But Lily is not the only one with secrets. Her next-door neighbor Carla may be only nine, but she has already learned that secrets are powerful things. That they can get her whatever she wants. When Lily finds Carla on her doorstep sixteen years later, a chain of events is set in motion that can end only one way.

Described as “A modern spin on a classic bad-seed story.” This book was full of twists and secrets. A fantastic read. I honestly couldn’t figure out what would happen in each coming chapter. It’s a mild psychological thriller with more suspense and mystery aspects in my opinion. 

Throughout reading I couldn’t understand why it was important for me to see Carla’s point of view. As the story progressed it became more clear. I found it interesting that Lily’s narrative was first person while Carla’s was third person. I still haven’t quite figured out why. Maybe Lily was telling her story for her.

The title “My Husband’s Wife” wasn’t clear to me either until the last portion of the book. That’s why I enjoyed this book so much. I love when I can’t figure something out right away. It kept my interest fully through. It was beautifully written and intertwined all the stories and moving parts successfully. 

When I discovered why Lily was so drawn to Joe I was shocked. I originally thought it was just the fact that he displayed the same characteristics of her brother. The controlling behavior, everything having to be precise, rituals, etc. But was I wrong. It was much deeper than that and I didn’t see that coming from Lily. **Sidebar** I couldn’t believe she stayed with Ed after finding out his motive for marrying her!

Lily was just as damaged and messed up as all the other characters she judged and put herself above. Don’t throw rocks when you live in a glass house. Ultimately I think she learned her lesson but I wouldn’t be surprised if she slipped back into her old ways of deception. 

Overall excellent read and I would highly recommend it for readers that love a good twist.

Thoughts??

Has anyone else read “My Husband’s Wife?” What did you think? How did you feel about Lily and Joe’s relationship? What are some of your favorite psychological thrillers?

Leave a Reply

