A Dark Lure

Book of the Day

“A Dark Lure” by Loreth Anne White

dark-lure

Twelve years ago, Sarah Baker was abducted by the Watt Lake Killer and sexually assaulted for months before managing to escape. The killer was caught, but Sarah lost everything: her marriage, her child, and the life she loved.

Struggling with PTSD, Sarah changes her name to Olivia West and finds sanctuary working on Broken Bar Ranch. But as her scars finally begin to heal, a cop involved with her horrific case remains convinced the Watt Lake Killer is still out there. He sets a lure for the murderer, and a fresh body is discovered. Now Olivia must face the impossible—could the butcher be back, this time to finish the job?

As a frigid winter isolates the ranch, only one person can help Olivia: Cole McDonough, a writer, adventurer, and ranch heir who stirs long-dormant feelings in her. But this time, Olivia’s determination to shut out her past may destroy more than her chance at love. It could cost her her life.

It took me achingly long to finish this book. One reason, because I read it as an ebook and I much rather prefer paperback. The other being it was a let down. I was excited to read this novel, as I love psychological thrillers and it has high ratings, but this book was definitely mislabeled. The “thrill” of this book took a major backseat and romance was the star. Don’t get me wrong, I like romance too, sometimes, but this isn’t what I was expecting. 

“A Dark Lure” started off promising, with the killer being the first character we meet. However, he doesn’t come back into the picture for so long I almost forgot there was a killer. The story begins to focus too much on family dynamics, for too many families I might add. 

I feel like there were too many characters to keep up with, too many points of view. I found myself having to go back and figure out who the person was. This book just felt like a chore to finish. The excitement didn’t return until the final few chapters, which in my opinion doesn’t make for a good thriller read. Also, the ending was pretty predictable.

I won’t say this book is terrible because it did have a good idea and plot but it just wasn’t for me. If you’re looking for an adrenaline rushing story that keeps you guessing this isn’t the book for you. But if you’re looking for a romance novel with a hint of danger you should read it. 

Thoughts??

Have you read this novel or any of Loreth’s other books? What do you think? Would you recommend any other stories from her?

Leave a Reply

