The Girl in 6E

Book of the Day

“The Girl in 6E” by A.R. Torre

6e

My life is simple, as long as I follow the rules.

1. Don’t leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don’t kill anyone.

I haven’t touched a human in three years. That seems like it would be a difficult task, but it’s not. Not anymore, thanks to the internet.

I am, quite possibly, the most popular recluse ever. Not many shut-ins have a 200-member fan club, a bank account in the seven-figure range, and hundreds of men lining up to pay for undivided attention.

They get satisfaction, I get a distraction. Their secret desires are nothing compared to why I hide… my lust for blood, my love of death.

Taking their money is easy. Keeping all these secrets… one is bound to escape.

What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl’s life depending on you venturing into society?

I would classify this novel as an erotic thriller. It’s book #1 in the Deanna Madden series. (I haven’t yet read the third installment so please let me know if it’s worth reading.) I wouldn’t say this is a definite must read, but it is entertaining.

Deanna was a normal teenage girl growing up until she witnessed her mother murder her family. After that she changed. All of a sudden she was extremely blood thirsty, without ever killing anyone herself. She’s been living as a recluse in her apartment with endless fantasies of how she would kill people, still without ever harming anyone. I feel like her hunger to kill was a bit dramatic and a little unbelievable at times, but entertaining nonetheless.

Her career as an internet sex operator gives the story something extra. To me it adds to the facade of Deanna. She takes on these personas that seems like such a stretch from who she really is. There are events in this book that show she has a good heart, but she doesn’t think so. She believes she’s this dangerous murderous woman but has never killed. She’s overtly sexy and adventurous online but has never had sex before, barely even kissed anyone. I don’t think she realizes that she’s making these personalities up in her mind, which is what I like about her character. She knows she’s not normal but for totally different reasons than what I see. 

Overall, I think this is a quick & fun read. It’s unique, dark & quirky all at the same time. 

Here are the other books in the series:

  Thoughts??

Have you read the Deanna Madden series? If so, what did you think? Let me know what your favorite genres are & submit your own Book of the Day!

Leave a Reply

