Those Girls

Book of The Day


“Those Girls” by Chevy Stevens

girls

Life has never been easy for the three Campbell sisters. Jess, Courtney, and Dani live on a remote ranch in western Canada where they work hard and try to stay out of the way of their father’s temper. One night, a fight gets out of hand and the sisters are forced to go on the run, only to get caught in an even worse nightmare when their truck breaks down in a small town. As events spiral out of control, they find themselves in a horrifying situation and are left with no choice but to change their names and create new lives.

Eighteen years later, they are still trying to forget what happened that summer. But when one of the sisters goes missing, followed closely by her niece, they are pulled back into the past. And this time there’s nowhere left to run.

 

 

This past weekend I was on the hunt to find a new good read and came across this little gem in Target. Although the synopsis grabbed my attention I noticed the author’s name and second guessed if I should purchase it.

I have previously read a book by Chevy Stevens titled “Always Watching.” The book had a good plot and idea but it just didn’t pull me in. It felt like it was a chore to finish it. A lot of things were dragged out for no apparent reason besides to fill the pages and the characters seemed bland.

I wanted to give Chevy a second chance with “Those Girls” and I’m glad I did. I finished in just a few days. Right from the beginning there’s adventure and you can’t stop reading because you have to know what happens next. This book was exciting and told a good story on survival.

I will say though, the character Skylar wasn’t my favorite. I get that she was needed to bring the story back to the danger but she just seemed a little too naive to be apart of this group. Understandably, she didn’t go through the same things as her mom and aunts but I thought she could have had more common sense to seem like she belonged.

*SPOILER*   

Courtney/Crystal took their traumatic past the worst and I was rooting for her to get through it. I was so let down when she got killed! I wanted some miracle savior to get her out of that house but unfortunately it didn’t happen.

Jess/Jamie was my favorite character. She was the youngest but was a bad-ass that didn’t mind doing whatever was possible to protect her family. I thought it appropriate for her to be the one with the child because she seemed the most mature even for her age.

Thoughts??

Has anyone else read this book? If so, what did you think of it?

How would you compare this to other works by Chevy Stevens? What books would you recommend by her?

Leave a Reply

