The Perfect Cover Letter 

Have you been applying to jobs and you’re not getting any luck? No call backs or responses? Not having a good cover letter could be the problem. 

Do you ever wonder:

Do I really need a cover letter? Is it really that important?

You have tons of experience. Your resume is informative and professional and you think, “I can get the job without one.” While this may be true, you might want to take the extra time to always send a cover letter when applying for jobs.

Why is it important?

Employers want to get to know you before they actually meet you. If you compare the application of someone with only a resume to go off of versus someone who sent a personable and exciting cover letter along with their resume, I can almost guarantee the individual who showed personality will win.

Sending a cover letter shows that you are willing to go above the minimum requirements, that you’re a high achiever. Let them know you’re interested! You want to sell yourself so don’t be shy. Make it personal to the job. Use your charm to get them hooked and excited to meet you. A good cover letter is your introduction and we all know that first impressions matter. Wow them and they’ll be happy to read your resume and bring you in for an interview, which is half of the battle. Once you have an interview all you have to do is reinforce that first impression and you’re as good as gold.

How do I construct a good Cover Letter?

First, you want to address whoever you’re writing to. If you know the hiring manager’s name use it. If not, Dear Recruiter or Dear Hiring Manger will suffice. Tell them why you’re interested in the job. Briefly introduce yourself and mention the experience you have that relates to the job.

Next, give a little background on yourself. Give more detail on your related experience and why you think you would be a perfect fit. Tell them a little about your accomplishments. If you don’t have any related experience convince them why you’re a good choice.

Last, thank them for their time and consideration and that you look forward to hearing back from them. Make sure you include your contact info at the end of your letter. *And don’t forget to attach your resume.*

Sample Cover Letter

Job post: Looking for a leasing consultant for a luxury living community with at least 1 year of experience.

Duties include: etc, etc, etc.

Benefits: etc, etc, etc.

Cover Letter:
Dear Hiring Manager,

When I read the description and requirements of this position I knew I had to jump at this amazing opportunity. I am a very dependable, hard-working and personable individual with over five years of customer service experience. I am looking for a position that will continue to challenge me as well as one that I can enjoy.

My strong background in customer service paired with my administrative experience gives me the edge I need to succeed in this position. Having worked in a medical office setting for three years I have mastered many tasks such as inputting patient information into the database, billing insurance and sorting paperwork and files. I believe these skills will assist me in having to collect information from buyers, checking their credit for approval and keeping all resident files in order.

I also have six months of leasing experience and in that limited amount of time I learned that this is the perfect role for me. The leasing consultant is the first point of contact for prospective residents and I understand how important it is to give them a wonderful impression of the community. I am knowledgeable about how to interact with people, both pleasant and irate. I believe that being a team player is very important to have everything operating the way it should be and I would love to demonstrate that and become apart of your team.

I want to thank you for your time and consideration. I have attached my resume for further review. I look forward to hearing back from you.
Sincerely,

Your Name

Address

Phone number

Email

NOTE:

Having a generic cover letter as a base is a good idea. You can change the names and little details to customize it for the job you’re applying for without having to construct a brand new one every time.

Leave a Reply

